In the heart of Somesville, nestled beside the mill pond and overlooking Somes Sound,
the Somesville Library is steeped in tradition while embracing its place in our modern times.
For a small library, the collections are quite remarkable. Tom, the librarian, keeps the library stocked with the most interesting and readable fiction, non-fiction, biographies, books about Maine and children's books.
Beyond being a lovely little library with a wonderful selection of books, our library is a place to bring Somesville together. Community events like soup and bread winter suppers, children’s and adult programming, the annual Books and Blueberries sale, and family game nights highlight the library’s role today.
Nestled right beside the Millpond on a former ship-building site, this building has always been home to our library. The building was completed in 1896, and slightly expanded in the 1970's to add a Meeting Room in the back (and a furnace), and the Children's Room on the side.
Since 1894, 15 different librarians have made our library the most welcoming place in Somesville. Tom Lange has been helping patrons for the past 20 years. Those who have met him know that without a dedicated librarian, a library is nothing more than a building.
The Somesville Library Board of Trustees is made up of dedicated year-round and summer residents who have a passion for preserving tradition while meeting the needs of today's visitors and residents.
4 boys (Bob, John, Burnham & Arthur Cart) in pony cart near Mill Pond. Somesville Library rear right. Source: MDI Historical Society
View across Mill Pond to Somesville Library, early 20th century. Source: MDI Historical Society
Somesville Library lawn looking towards Main Street. c1965. Source: MDI Historical Society
Celebrating Our History
The Somesville Library had its origins during the long, cold winter months, more than 130 years ago.
Originally founded as the Ladies Aid Society about 1884, this group believed that community was best encouraged by buying and keeping books in people's homes. In 1891, through the New Library Society, residents became serious about the need for a permanent building and Reading Room, so they held pie socials, dances, candy sales, baked bean suppers and rummage sales. They also hosted masquerade balls, plays and dramatic readings.
By 1894, they had raised $457.94 and through the hard work of volunteers, the present library was erected.